John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:49 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Remote computer control
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:01 am
Posts: 68
Location: Chicagoland
I would like the ability to control my computer located in the control room from my iso booth. My plan was to simply run DVI and USB extensions approximately 30 feet in order to hook up a keyboard, mouse, and monitor. After doing a bit of research, it appears that these digital cables aren't much good past 5 meters or 16.5'. I've seen some devices that convert the signals to run on CAT5, but they seem quite expensive.

Any suggestions for an inexpensive solution?


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:34 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:30 am
Posts: 397
Location: Gresham OR
MightyM
Not sure how much you're willing to spend but there are many different styles of wireless controllers out there
http://www.frontierdesign.com/Products/TranzPort

Heres a start
Peace
Tom

_________________
_____________________________
http://www.lost-studios.com
facebook.com/loststudiospdx


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 12:17 am
Posts: 91
Location: Alabama, USA
Also, don't write off the DVI/USB extension idea just yet. there are many extension solutions out there to do the job. My AV/VTC guy at work does it all the time in conference rooms, extending those signals up to ceiling mounted projectors and the like. I'll check with him and post the information. IIRC 30 foot is well within the range of some of his installations.

_________________
Brian

"Music with dinner is an insult both to the cook and the violinist." - G. K. Chesterton (1874 - 1936)


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:19 am
Posts: 8
Location: Oregon USA
I have DVI running with a ~20ft extension cable along with USB. The USB cable leads to a hub that leads to a wireless mouse/keyboard dongle.
Everything works great, no degradation of video signal as far as I can tell. Just be sure to get a good shielded extension cable with ferrites.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:01 am
Posts: 68
Location: Chicagoland
I figured the 3 meter spec was probably on the conservative side. I've got 2" conduit to run my cables through, so if standard extension cables don't work out, I should be able to pull them out, connectors and all.

I'd still be curious to know if there is a low cost CAT5 converter system that would do the trick. Everything I have seen so far is approximately $200(US) and up.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:58 am
Posts: 87
Location: Finland
Check this out:
http://www.prorec.com/Articles/tabid/10 ... fault.aspx

pretty cool! :lol:

-Tomi-


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:01 am
Posts: 68
Location: Chicagoland
Holy Crap! :shock: Why didn't I think of that!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I was just going to suggest the remote desktop approach, but I see malfunction's link already covers it.

I use a macbook and remote desktop to control 3 computers. A Mac G5 running Logic and 2 Win XP PCs running virtual instruments and effects. I can say that it works great.

The other cool thing with a setup like this is that you can eliminate the multiple monitors if you're running multiple machines. In my case, I only occasionally need to access my PC slaves, so I just have them in a window on my OSX desktop when needed.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:26 am
Posts: 2073
Location: Netherlands
Funny, I was just about to hint you to MSTSC/RDP :)

Take another laptop, plug it in (wireless ofcourse) and start MSTSC (Microsoft Terminal Server Client) and connect to your host computer.
Make sure you have "remote control" enabled (computer props, remctr tab)

It's exactly how I do my remote recording :)


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:58 am
Posts: 87
Location: Finland
A few years back I was also looking for a remote when I found the article. Never crossed my mind before that.
The instructions could be made a sticky somewhere around the forum? :roll:


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:26 am
Posts: 2073
Location: Netherlands
Why should they. If you press F1 in Microsoft Windows you get "help" which sure will guide you through... there are numerous articles on the net about remote-desktop features.

And there's good alternatives, has anybody tried VNC for example (it's been on the market for years and still unbeaten).


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 127
Location: NJ, USA
This thread is a must read!
Great solutions, saves me tons of time and money.

:D


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:14 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:06 am
Posts: 1772
Location: Music City
Here's Microsofts RDP program. They have both for PC & Mac:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/down ... ENTDL.mspx

http://www.microsoft.com/mac/products/r ... fault.mspx


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 4:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:58 am
Posts: 87
Location: Finland
Ro wrote:
Why should they. If you press F1 in Microsoft Windows you get "help" which sure will guide you through... there are numerous articles on the net about remote-desktop features.

And there's good alternatives, has anybody tried VNC for example (it's been on the market for years and still unbeaten).


You are right about that but why would you buy VNC or something else since RD comes free with windows?

And you would be surprised how many people never even thought about this solution searching for a remote controller. That's why it would probably be a good sticky.

_________________
-Tomi-
Studio ManCave!
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Studio-M ... 6353524452


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:26 am
Posts: 2073
Location: Netherlands
VNC is a free tool ;)
Remote Desktop in Windows acts like a Terminal Session while VNC, for example, takes over the current logged on Desktop user. In the studio context, RDP is a very good option. (It's buildin, it's handy and it works like a charm). That is, if you're the only one using that PC session.

With VNC, again for example, multiple ppl can view the same windows session....

cheers


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group