John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum
http://www.johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/

Connecting mic-pres with 3 different rooms -without patchbay
http://www.johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=17557
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mariojunicic [ Wed May 02, 2012 12:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Connecting mic-pres with 3 different rooms -without patchbay

Hi everyone,
How should I connect multiple mic-preamps (outboard) with few patch panles (in different rooms and different cable lengths) and have option to connect any mic in any room to any preamp from iso-room, studio room, control room.
I would like to avoid XLR patchbays here and keep it simple if is posible.

Here are some of my ideas. I think that all should work (somehow) - but which is the optimum/best?
Attachment:
Mic connections with 3 rooms.jpg


24ch total
Cables length : from rack with mic preamps
1 - 2m to reach control room patch panel (this will be used for guide tracks)
2 - 5m to reach iso-room
6 - 12m to reach studio room
so, is one cable would be used - total length would be 12m
but on the way there it should be also connected at 2m and 4m (e.g.) if daisy chaining is recommended.
All room are in series and patch panels would be in the same line - so it could be connected as #1 option at pic.
#1 option would be best for me - but is there any problem that I don't have in mind?

Usually people would go for XLR patchbay but that is also theoretic degrading sound
so the main question here is:

Is it better sound-wise daisy chaining or install XLR patch bay?

Thanks for any info.

Mario.

Author:  Speedskater [ Wed May 02, 2012 10:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Connecting mic-pres with 3 different rooms -without patc

A balanced analog audio XLR interconnect system is very robust. The length of the cable on the output of a mic pre-amp should not affect the audio quality. Daisy Chaining the patch panels should not affect the audio quality either but the more wire connections the more chance of getting it wrong.

I like your system #4 because it gives you more control. With the other systems you could have unintended units still plugged in but forgotten.

Author:  Soundman2020 [ Wed May 02, 2012 11:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Connecting mic-pres with 3 different rooms -without patc

Yep. Number 4, for sure. It also gives you more flexibility, in being able to patch between rooms if needed.

(If you wanted to get really fancy, you could put in a routing switcher... :) )


- Stuart -

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/