John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:18 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:42 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Australia
My power to a detached garage (3 phase) has its ground rod buried in the concrete outside the door. No visable wires so I can only presume it runs under ground and into the service panel. What can I do to get my star ground connected to the rods? Can I simPly patch it into the earth wire at the back of the panel ? Thanks


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:42 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Australia
I forgot to add, I ask this as there is no ground buss bar in my service panel.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 167
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
The ground rod into Mother Earth is there for safety from thunder & lighting storms or if the power company has a real big problem. The green safety ground wires (EGC or PE) should be connected near the breaker panel at the building service entrance.

_________________
Kevin


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:42 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Australia
Yeah , but can I Splice my star ground to it?


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 167
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Now that I don't know! I'm some 12 000 miles away so I just can't pop in. There are many different ways to wire a three phase system. How are the other circuits connected to Mother Earth?

_________________
Kevin


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:47 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 4587
Location: Old Tappan, NJ USA
recommend you get a licensed electrician to look at this. not having a ground in the service main is likely a serious issue. and you should only have a single earth ground (unless you have it engineered for another purpose - which it sounds like you do not).

_________________
Glenn


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group