John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Wed May 22, 2019 4:01 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:27 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Hello! When my home was being constructed, I requested to have the electrical supply to the room being dedicated as my studio space be separate from the supply to the rest of the home including lighting. What the electrician did was dedicate a 60 amp breaker in the main box to the studio. He then installed a separate circuit breaker box with its own 20 & 15 amp breakers supplying all electrical outlets in the room.

My question is: is this configuration considered “isolated ground circuits”? Because the individual circuits in the room outlets are all branched from the 60 amp breaker in the main box does this mean the ground is contaminated with the entire home?

Thanks in advance!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 167
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Does the studio wiring use:
a] metal conduit (ridge or flexible)?
b] plastic conduit?
c] NM (Non Metallic) cable (i.e. Romex®)?
is it a 240V 120/120V box or just 120V?
* * * * * * * * * * * *
I would prefer to have one feeder for the audio system and another feeder for lighting, HVAC and appliances.

* * * * * * * * * * *
in any case, if you put the audio equipment on one 120V pole or leg and everything else on the other, you should be OK.

_________________
Kevin


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:27 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Speedskater wrote:
Does the studio wiring use:
a] metal conduit (ridge or flexible)?
b] plastic conduit?
c] NM (Non Metallic) cable (i.e. Romex®)?
is it a 240V 120/120V box or just 120V?
* * * * * * * * * * * *
I would prefer to have one feeder for the audio system and another feeder for lighting, HVAC and appliances.

* * * * * * * * * * *
in any case, if you put the audio equipment on one 120V pole or leg and everything else on the other, you should be OK.


It’s 20A romex. The breaker box in the studio contains several 20 and 15 amp breakers which are fed from the 60A breaker off the main box located in the garage. Lights,HVAC, etc are not fed from either the 60A breaker or the individual breakers in studio.

Can additional steps be taken to keep electrical free of line noise? Thanks!!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 167
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Romex® [ NM (Non Metallic) cable ] almost never needs (or gains anything) from Isolated Ground receptacles. The only exception might be a building with metal wall framing. And then Romex® doesn't have the needed two Safety Ground wires.

If only the audio equipment uses the 60A feeder as the path back to the main breaker box, then NO the Safety Ground is not contaminated.

_________________
Kevin


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:27 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Ok thanks for that info!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group