John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:10 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm 

Hi!

I'm converting part of my shed to a one-room studio.
I need good sound-proofing, trucks are passing by at 65km/h (40miles/h) 150m/500feet away.

Is this wall good enough:

Especially:
1) The outer layer is wood with small gaps between (barn-style). Is it good enough?
2) Is it enough space between outer and inner layer?
3) Is 3" ok for inner studs and insulation?
4) Is one layer of gypsum enough on the inside

Budget-friendly solutions are preferred.

More details here: http://geir-music.blogspot.no/2012/09/b ... floor.html
More pictures: http://geir-music.blogspot.no/2012/09/a ... tures.html

Thanks!

Report this post

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:32 am 

Hi there I'm not an expert but I think the answer to your question is probably no.

Firstly the outer wood has gaps so is not airtight, can you not thicken the outer layer up from the inside between the studs with an exterior grade OSB board maybe?

Though I think you better wait for one of the experts to comment, I shall follow your build with interest, good luck.

Report this post

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:27 pm 
Site Admin

Quote:
1) The outer layer is wood with small gaps between (barn-style). Is it good enough?

I agree with Roguejackal: "the outer wood has gaps so is not airtight,". If you have gaps like that in the wood, then you have no isolation. If air can get through, then so can sound.

Sealing up those gaps and adding mass to the wall, as outlined by Roguejackal, is a good plan.

Quote:
2) Is it enough space between outer and inner layer?
It looks possible, but you didn't say how much isolation you need, so nobody can say for sure if that is "enough" or not.

Quote:
3) Is 3" ok for inner studs