John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:27 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:05 am 

Hello folks
I need some advice with soundproofing the interior of shabbey road studios a 3.4 meter long x 2.3 meter wide x 2.7 meter high detached, cement floored, windowless, 18 mm timber roofed, 100mm concrete block walled, garden studio. (See photo "outer shell")
Attachment:
bare shell.jpg

I understand very little about studio design/soundproofing but i compose library music for a living (primarily music used on adverts and radio) everything is created on a computer. I will require to play guitar through a guitar amp but I will not require soundproofing for a live drum kit as I don’t use one.
The garden studio structure is situated right next to the windowless wall of our neighbour’s end of terrace house. We live in a busy residential area I want make it as quiet as possible as I do much of my work between 7pm to late at night.

After researching the internal construction from various sources (especially this forum) I have arrived at these solutions-

For the doors....
2 x fire door entry system with 25mm air lock

For the walls...
Outer concrete wall 100mm thick
Air gap 25mm
Stud partition 50mm thick (filled with mineral wool)
Resilient bar
2 x layers of different thickness plasterboard sandwiched with green glue

For the ceiling....
New joists attached to top frame of wall studs (filled with mineral wool)
Resilient bar (hat channel type)
2 x layers of different thickness plasterboard sandwiched with green glue

Please let me know if you agree with the wall ceiling construction overview?
Attachment:
roof cieling and wall construction.jpg

My main question is about the existing roof as this seems like the weak point for sound escaping....