John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:37 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:15 am 

Hey guys!

My name is Jeff, and I'm new to the site. I've been planning a new studio build in my backyard in the Houston Texas area for some time now. I plan on posting my entire plans soon, but I've run into a snag with the design and thought I would go ahead and ask for some assistance.

A little background: I'm a drummer and the recording engineer for our band. The space will mainly be used by me for practice and recording using an acoustic drum setup with volumes usually in the 105 db range. The plan is for a 14'w x 19'd x 10'h combination control and tracking room. I will occasionally have the whole band over to record, but I plan on just doing direct inputs with the guitars and have the vocals soft and then redub, so the overall volume shouldn't increase much. Our neighborhood is pretty spaced out with the next closest house being approximately 100 ft away. Street is fairly quiet. So goal would be to have around 50-60 db of isolation (not really sure if this is the right way I should express how much isolation I want, but it makes sense to me). I plan on constructing a room within a room with 2x4 spaced 16" oc with dbl 5/8" drywall, green glue, R13 insulation on the inside and 2 layers of staggered sheathing with insulation on the outside. Exterior dimensions are 16' x 21' x 11', which wil give me a few inches of air space on each side, including the ceiling. Roof will either be monoslope or just traditional gable. Planning currently to have OSB on rafters below a metal roof. Slab will be simple concrete.