John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:19 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:11 am 

Hi All,

Thanks to John, Steve, Ethan and anyone else who contributes to this awesome site!

heres the background info: (hope i don't miss anything!)
I've been perusing the site for a couple months now. I'm in the design phase of building a new project studio and trackingroom/home theater in WV USA. I have an empty basement as my beginning, in a new house(2003). Block walls, Cement Floor, 9'1" floor to bottom of open wooden joists.

Mainly want a decent drum room! I know the end goal of a live room is well balanced, and the HT is dead, but i'll compromise on that (the home-owners mandate includes usefullness and aesthetics!)

I will probably have everything from rock to bluegrass musicians, so there will be a different array of noise from the trackign room. Isolation is only important between upstairs and downstairs. There is a hardwood floor upstairs (and it's very easy to hear ppl walking on it), so I plan on insulating the joists (r19) and adding a layer of 5/8th drywall. I know this will not soundproof it, but should significantly increase seperation right?

I plan on studding out the walls and filling them with r13,and hanging 1/2in sheetrock. except: the division wall between studio and control, this will be double 5/8th and filled with will use R13 or R19 (the plan shows a rough window, it will be sealed on each wall, and isolated from each other. there will be two identical doors as well.)

I plan to build a seperate iso/vox booth as part of the control room. (in back wall or somethign).

There are two "major" problems, and numerous smaller ones.

i'm probably going to apply a false concrete texture to the curved wall behind the post, hopefully, it will be a really cool looking diffuser!