John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:00 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 2:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:01 am
Posts: 27
Location: Sweden
As the title says, I'd like some "third party" eyes to quickly check out this layout and tell me if they see something obvious I'm missing, or what could be done more efficiently?

Outboard is omitted from the plan on purpose, as for now they are wired up to their own bays. The layout is arranged in a bit of a funky manner, so that the first two rows are the left side of a patchbay and the next 2 are the right side of the patchbay. I marked them AL, AR, BL, BR etc. etc. to clarify it more.. AR for example being bay A, right side.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 6:29 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 4586
Location: Old Tappan, NJ USA
are any of the balanced or XLR going to have phantom power running through them? (like mic preamps)? if so, you might be better served with an XLR patch panel because a regular tip-ring approach can short out if you're not methodical in turn off the phantom power before switching.

_________________
Glenn


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 7:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:01 am
Posts: 27
Location: Sweden
gullfo wrote:
are any of the balanced or XLR going to have phantom power running through them? (like mic preamps)? if so, you might be better served with an XLR patch panel because a regular tip-ring approach can short out if you're not methodical in turn off the phantom power before switching.



I was - for some reason - under the impression that the bay I'm using for the mic lines LINK would alleviate that problem through the selectable grounding schemes. If I'm wrong however, I might just consider getting an XLR bay for the mic ties from the rooms. And well, I have to say that pretty much every single studio I have worked in, from small ITB rooms to a big SSL room have all been running phantom through their patchbays with no problems. Of course phantom is to be turned on only after patching, but that comes from the spine for me :P


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:01 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 4586
Location: Old Tappan, NJ USA
no problem using TRS patching so long as you are aware of the power concern and it sounds like you are...

_________________
Glenn


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group