John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:07 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:05 am
Posts: 2
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Greetings:

In an effort to rebuild our studio after getting damaged by Hurricane Sandy, we've decided to make a few fixes/ improvements along the way.

Our studio consists of 3 live rooms of various sizes, 3 isolation booths of various sizes, and two control rooms. Prior to the storm, each control room had its own wiring to each room (each control room had its own snake system to each room), now we are trying to see if we can wire the rooms up in a way that both control rooms can use the same patch points in each room. Trying to cleanup some clutter if we can....

I've looked the forum, but didn't see (or missed) anything with multiple control rooms. Any options would be greatly appreciated!

Alan camlet,
Hoboken Recorders


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:24 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:17 am
Posts: 11984
Location: Santiago, Chile
Hi Alan, and welcome to the forum! :)

For that type of facility-wide signal routing, I would seriously consider a routing switcher. That will allow you to route each source to any destination (or any number of destinations) as needed. It gives you great flexibility without needing any physical patching at all. Not cheap, but the flexibility is amazing. It might be too expensive to use for all signals (depending on your budget), but a 32 x 32 could probably handle the typical load of a pair of live rooms plus 3 iso booths (and a 64 x 64 certainly could).

Worth considering.


- Stuart -

_________________
I want this studio to amaze people. "That'll do" doesn't amaze people.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:05 am
Posts: 2
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Stewart,

Thx very much for your reply. Can you point me towards a company that makes these and where I'd glean some knowledge on how to wire one on these up?

Alan


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:04 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:17 am
Posts: 11984
Location: Santiago, Chile
Here's a few that should work for you:

Kramer Electronics:
http://www.kramerelectronics.com/produc ... 56716085-7
http://www.kramerelectronics.com/produc ... 56716085-7

Extron:
http://www.extron.com/product/listbytyp ... ubtype=134

Matrix Switch:
http://www.matrix-switch.tv/products/an ... switchers/

There are others too, but they are mostly meant for video post production, and are add-ons for video routing switchers (Sony, Grass Valley, Pesa, Ensemble Designs, etc.)


- Stuart -

_________________
I want this studio to amaze people. "That'll do" doesn't amaze people.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group