John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Mon Jul 26, 2021 11:49 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 1:56 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Hi Guys,

I have attached some images of my receptacle plan for my 21' x 13' basement studio. I might prune a few receptacles before I'm done (I put a lot in for future flexibility), but I have intentionally designed the electrical plan to keep my audio gear separate from non-audio gear.

Here's where I get a bit confused...

I'm not sure if electrical noise can travel through other types of cables (audio, video, etc.), and for a few devices, it's not clear to me if I should plug them into clean outlets (my audio-only, star grounded, IGRs), or plug them into my standard receptacles (or what I'll call "dirty power"). I'll probably put a Furman power conditioner and voltage regulator between my most important audio devices and the receptacles.

For the few devices with question marks, can you help clarify the best plan?

Thanks in advance.

Synths, mixer, DAW CPU tower, powered NFMs - Clean Audio-Only Power
LCD monitors, currently using DVI-D cables - Dirty Power ???
DVD player that I sample from - Clean Audio-Only Power
Tiny LCD display that the DVD player plugs into - Dirty Power
MIDI Interface with a wall wart - ???


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 1:35 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 5075
Location: Old Tappan, NJ USA
the plan looks good, however, you do need to adhere to electrical code and those outlets on the floor level will not cut it.

_________________
Glenn


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 6:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 1:56 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Detroit, MI USA
gullfo wrote:
the plan looks good, however, you do need to adhere to electrical code and those outlets on the floor level will not cut it.


Hmm. They are all 12" off the floor level which I thought was the NEC recommendation. I'm having an electrician do all the work, so if they are a bit low, he should know.

Todd


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 8:21 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 5075
Location: Old Tappan, NJ USA
ah , ok. it looks like they're in the baseboard on the drawings you provided which is why i mentioned it.

_________________
Glenn


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 171
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
How does the electricity get from the breaker panel to the outlet boxes and receptacles?
How do they get around the door?
Most homes basement studios don't use ridge (EMT) or flexible metal conduit.

You are way over thinking this.

_________________
Kevin


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group