John Sayers' Design Forum

John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum

A World of Experience
Click Here for Information on John's Services
It is currently Fri Jul 30, 2021 2:03 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:42 am 
I'm trying to figure out what my options are.
Here is my current setup.
5 cables going to different rooms and all coming back to the control room. 4 pairs in each cable.
I'm planning to run 2 mic lines w/ phantom power , 1 Headphone , 1 Line In off each wire. Chances are this will never be done at the same time. My question is can I use a patch bay for this and solder or punch down each cable into the back of a patchbay and then use cables from the front to go to the appropiate equipment ?


Report this post
Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:06 am
Posts: 1771
Location: Music City
Quote:
My question is can I use a patch bay for this and solder or punch down each cable into the back of a patchbay and then use cables from the front to go to the appropiate equipment ?


Yes.

:D

You stated a headphone run. Is that signal going to be an amplified signal or line level? If it's amplified, I would strongly recommend running a separate wire for this. Otherwise you'll have a good chance of bleedthrough into you mic lines and amplifying the signal.

Aaron


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:10 am 
Any patchbay recommendations ? Either solder or punch down type.


Report this post
Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:31 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:06 am
Posts: 1771
Location: Music City
Will you be wiring up the console and all outboard gear as well?

Look under the TR&I sticky at the top. There's some links to patchbay info.

:D


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:41 am 
I will be only wiring up the console to the patchbay and the headphone amp.


Report this post
Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:06 am
Posts: 1771
Location: Music City
How many channels? Inserts? Mic/line in? Groups?, etc, etc...


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:01 am 
I will need to get 2 mics and one headphone and one line level off each cable.

This is how I envision using the patchbay is to have the 5 cables that are coming in be soldered or punched down into the back of the patchbay. Then I would like to just take cables from the front of the patchbay to my mixer's line ins and 4 outs from the headphone amp. Is this the way to do it ? I know that running the headphones through the same line is not recommended but there are other cables already in place that I can use for just headphones.

My mixer specs are.
24x8 channels
inserts, direct out, mic , line on each channel
I'm using the direct outs on each channel to go to two delta 1010's soon to add a third.


Report this post
Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:27 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:06 am
Posts: 1771
Location: Music City
Do you plan on wiring the entire console to the bays? or just a few channels. Are you using something like a Mackie? or?


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:33 am 
Planning on wiring each channel to a patchbay. Either a line in or mic in never both. I already have 8 channels used up on the board.
It's a Tac Scorpion 24 channel 8 Buss


Report this post
Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:43 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:06 am
Posts: 1771
Location: Music City
Quote:
Either a line in or mic in never both.



I'm not familiar w/ the scorpion's connections. Does it not have separate in's for mic and line? And a switch on the channel strip to switch between mic/line?

How extensive do you want to go w/ the patchbays? Do you need ideas / help for layout?



Thanks.

Aaron


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group